Facebook officially supports to merge 2 facebook page. To merge 2 facebook page you have to be owner of each page. That means you should be the admin. If you are not an admin but manage the page then you are not eligible to merge these pages. In other words, a moderator or editor cannot merge a page.
Conditions for Merging 2 Facebook Page
To merge two facebook page following conditions must be fulfilled.
- You are the admin of both page.
- Both page have similar name. For example, “Issue Freek” and “Issue Freek Zone”.
- They have to represent same thing. You cannot merge a public figure page with a book page. Similarly you cannot merge a website page with a location page. To merge pages should be of same type.
- Physical addresses for both page must be same. Pages with different Address will not be merged.
How to Merge 2 Facebook Page?
If you have two facebook page and you fulfill the page merging requirement then you can request to merge them. Here are the step by step instruction to merge two facebook pages.
- Open Facebook Page Merge Tools.
- Select 2 Pages you want to merge and click Continue.
- Click Request Merge.
If you are not eligible for merging two page you will see and error and will not be able to merge. If you see an option for merge request then your pages is in hanging state. You can request for merge from here. After your request facebook community will check whether your pages can be merged or not. Possible result is your pages will be merged.
What Information is Merged While Merging 2 Facebook Page?
If you are able to merge your facebook pages the following information will be merge from your both page.
What Information is Deleted While Merging 2 Facebook Page?
When you merge two facebook page you have to set a page as priority. That means to which page you want to merge the information. It acts as the destination page. All the information of the destination page remains unchanged. Likes, Check-ins, Mentions from other page is moved to the destination page. But other information is not moved. They are deleted. The information that is deleted from the merged page are below.
- Messages etc.
The Page you want to keep will remain unchanged, except for the addition of people who like the Page and check-ins that were merged from the other Page. The Page you don’t want to keep will be removed from Facebook, and you won’t be able to unmerge or use it again.